Tradition: Four captivating and exclusive Black Series models since 2006

Nov 18, 2011
  • 2006: SLK 55 AMG Black Series producing 294 kW (400 hp)
  • 2007: CLK 63 AMG Black Series producing 373 kW (507 hp)
  • 2008: SL 65 AMG Black Series producing 493 kW (670 hp)
  • 2011: C 63 AMG Coupé Black Series producing 380 kW (517 hp)
The new C 63 AMG Coupé Black Series is the most powerful C-Class of
all time and the fourth Black Series model. With this model, AMG, which was established in 1967, is consistently continuing its strategy to develop particularly exclusive high-performance motorcars for passionate enthusiasts of high-horsepower vehicles.
The first one was the SLK 55 AMG Black Series. The AMG 5.5-litre V8 engine in the decidedly puristic two-seater enticed customers with its maximum output of 294 kW (400 hp) and a torque of 520 newton metres, and between July 2006 and April 2007 120 units were produced. The CLK 63 AMG Black Series followed directly in its footsteps. The two-seater coupé was powered by an AMG 6.3-litre V8 engine producing 373 kW (507 hp) and 630 Nm of torque. Between April 2007 and March 2008, some 700 vehicles were made.
The highlight up until now was the SL 65 AMG Black Series, which was unveiled in 2008: the high-performance coupé still captivates drivers today with its spectacular appearance, unique output data, systematic lightweight construction and exclusivity of the highest calibre. The AMG 6.0 litre V12 biturbo engine with a maximum output of 493 kW (670 hp) and torque of 1000 newton metres made the SL 65 AMG Black Series the most powerful AMG vehicle ever to enter series production. In total 350 units were built
from September 2008 to August 2009.